To be the premier community club


Creating an environment of excellence

At North we value

  • Our people, our members and our community
  • Inclusiveness
  • Teamwork
  • Leadership and innovation
  • History and tradition
  • Respect, integrity and professionalism


  • 1882 – Ballarat North Football Club formed
  • 1912 – 1937 North City Football Club formed
  • 1946 – (BFL ‘B’ Grade) North City Football Club reformed
  • 1952 – 1957 Ballarat North City promoted to BFL ‘A’ Grade
  • 1960 – Played as North City – Wendouree
  • 1961 – Commenced playing as North Ballarat Football Club
  • 1996 – Entered Victorian Football League
  • 2006 – North City Football Club reformed in the Bendigo Football League
  • 2008 Senior VFL Premiership
  • 2008 North City Football Club rejoins the Ballarat Football League
  • 2009 Senior VFL Premiership
  • 2010 Senior VFL Premiership
  • 2013-2014 North City Football Club wins back-to-back premierships

The North Ballarat Football Club formed in 1882 and played in various competitions before entering the Ballarat “B” Grade competition in 1946. In a sign of things to come, the club won the premiership in its first year of that competition.

In 1952, the club joined the Ballarat Football League. Success in the top grade took a little longer and it wasn’t until 1959 that the Roosters made the grand final and 1963 before they won the big one – by two points against Ballarat.

The 1970’s heralded the start of a golden era for the club. In the 27-year period from 1970 until 1996 the awesome Roosters claimed 14 premierships (a total of 15 premierships including 1963) and were runners-up another six times. They appeared in seven straight grand finals from 1990 to 1996, winning five of them.

Along the way, thanks largely to an excellent junior development program, the club has produced sportsmen of the calibre of Brownlow Medallist Tony Lockett, Collingwood and past West Coast Eagles dual AFL premiership coach Michael Malthouse and marathon runner Steve Moneghetti. There are also many players who have gone on to play football at its highest level.

The on-field success of the Roosters stems from a committed and professional administration which has been responsible for the development of excellent clubhouse facilities, including the North Ballarat Sports Club, which opened in August, 1990. This club operates one of the most successful Tatts gaming venues in the state.

In October 1995 the North Ballarat Football Club was granted a licence to join the Victorian Football League and the Roosters made a move … UP! By accepting the invitation to compete in the new Victorian Football League, the Roosters placed Ballarat and the Western Region in the Victorian sporting spotlight. It was also at this time that the then VSFL (now TAC Cup) Under 18 Ballarat Rebels operation moved to the Northern Oval. The North Ballarat Roosters and the Ballarat Rebels became the first fully integrated VFL Club and the Rebels became the North Ballarat Rebels.

In the early days of the revamped VFL competition the Roosters made the preliminary final in 1998 and competed in senior grand finals in 1999 and 2000. The reserves team won two premierships (1998 and 1999) and competed in a grand final in 2005.

In 2006 the club entered into a partnership with the North Melbourne Football Club where AFL listed Kangaroos players aligned to the Roosters and, if not selected in the AFL team that week, played in the Roosters VFL team.

In seasons 2008 – 2009 – 2010, the club created a dynasty, winning three senior VFL premierships at Etihad Stadium.

Along the way a number of players have been drafted or rookied, including Ross Funcke and Darren Jolly (both to Melbourne), Jeremy Clayton and Djaran Whyman (North Melbourne), Nick Maxwell (Collingwood), Michael Jamison (Carlton), Stephen Clifton (GWS), Isaac Smith (Hawthorn), Orren Stephenson (Geelong and Richmond) and Dean Towers (Sydney).

The Roosters have also produced a number of J J Liston Trophy Medallists, the VFL Best & Fairest award; Julian Field (2004), Myles Sewell (2009), Stephen Clifton in 2010 and 2013 and Nick Rippon in 2015.

At the end of the 2013 season, the club made the decision to withdraw their development (reserves) team from the competition. The costs and logistics of fielding a regional team was a major contributing factor behind the decision.

In 2016, the Roosters became a ‘stand alone’ club in the VFL again as North Melbourne withdrew from the alignment to concentrate on only one club in the VFL division – Werribee.

The North Ballarat Rebels also changed their name to the Greater Western Victoria Rebels to better reflect their talent catchment area.